The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Management and organisation

Malmö Academy of Music is one of three institutions belonging to the Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts at Lund University. The institutions are led by the Faculty Board.

Sculpture of an orchestra. Photo.

Faculty Board

The Faculty Board at the Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts has the overall strategic responsibility for its institutions –Malmö Academy of Music, Malmö Art Academy, Malmö Theatre Academy, as well as Inter Arts Center, a platform for artistic research and experimentation.

Board of Directors

At Malmö Academy of Music, the Board of Directors is the highest decision-making body. It consists of 12 members; seven teachers, two other employees and three student representatives, including a doctoral student. They are appointed by election in each category.

Educational committees

There are two educational committees; the Educational Committee of the Performance and Church Music Programmes, and the Educational Committee of the Music Teacher Programme. They are responsible for and decides on issues regarding course contents, implementation, and development. Each committee consists of five teacher representatives, two group deputy members and two student representatives. They elect their own chairperson.

Other committees

At Malmö Academy of Music there are also a few smaller committees that are responsible for the planning and coordination in various areas. Teachers are always included and normally a student representative as well. These smaller committees have an advisory and preparatory function to the Education Committees and the Board of Directors.

Management group

Hans Hellsten
Professor and Head of Department/Rector

Almaz Yebio
Senior Lecturer and Deputy Head of Department

Magnus Ericsson
Director of Studies and Programme Director

Birgit Jakobsson
Administration Manager

Lars Andersson
Senior Lecturer and Programme Director

Mattias Hjorth
Lecturer, and Programme Director

Lars Härstedt Salmonson
Programme Director